Wesleyan Student Assembly (WSA) Chief of Staff Ava Petillo ’25 announced the results of the Spring 2023 WSA General Election in an all-campus email on Saturday, May 6. Voting was open from 12:00 a.m. on Monday, May 1 through 11:59 p.m. on Friday, May 5. All 18 candidates who ran were unopposed, and all were elected to terms expiring at the end of the 2023–24 school year.

The class of 2024 elected Asija Qyteza, Daëlle Coriolan, Felice Li, Hazel Allison-Way, Jessica Luu, Michael Quinteros, and Ruby Raye Clarke; the class of 2025 elected Jack Johnston; and the class of 2026 elected Catherine Auerbach, Corinne Dicpinigaitis, David Tu, Liam Farrell, Liam Waldman, Paul Quach, Santiago Galvan, Sarika Akila, Zain Punjwani, and Zoe Sonkin. The majority of candidates are incumbent senators or have sat on the WSA during a previous semester.

In addition to these 18 individuals, eight senators will continue their terms after having been elected at the end of the Fall 2022 semester, and eight seats are reserved for the class of 2027, as mandated by the WSA Constitution. Barring any possible summer resignations, there should not be any empty seats on the General Assembly in Fall 2023.

At the final meeting of the 44th General Assembly and first meeting of the 45th on Sunday, May 7, the WSA internally elected the members of next year’s Leadership Board (LB). WSA President Orly Meyer ’24 and Vice President Elena Brennan ’24 were already slated to sit on the LB, and will be joined by Johnston as Academic Affairs Committee Chair, Coriolan as Equity and Inclusion Committee Chair, Qyteza as Community Committee Chair, Jonghwa Kim ’25 as Student Budget Committee Chair, Clarke as Student Life Committee Chair, and Allison-Way as Chief of Staff.

Sam Hilton can be reached at shilton@wesleyan.edu.

Comments are closed